***Under Pressure***

Balance your hormones, balance your life!

Balance your hormones, balance your life!

So, I am dealing with the standard holiday times stresses, worries about heating costs and shopping and wrapping gifts… only this year I get to do it while on a completly horrifying hormone highway to hell.

I had been noticing a few little things here and there… like not being able to focus. Remember my previous post talking about starting tasks and then not finishing them completely? Then all of sudden it hit me like surprise junk punch— I had the most insane crazed panic attack I’ve ever experienced when I was supposed to be headed to my daughter’s dance recital.

I called my therapist and had an emergency intervention. This was an incredibly powerful panic attack, and the first one I can ever remember where I was actually full on in tears.. wracked with sobs. We did a couple little excercises to try to burn off some of the excess energy flowing through my viens.. then burned up the rest of the time with me rattling off my syptoms. It was SO SO incredibly uncomfortable… I was just crawlin’ out of my skin. SUPER SONIC ANXIETY — The Heebee Jeebs, for sure! It was awful…

As my therapist watched me pacing, and crying– he suggested it might be a hormone issue. This later sparked conversation with my incredible shift partners at work and one of them lent me “Hormone Balance Made Simple” by Dr. John Lee.

It took me a couple days but I finally realized what was happening. In July I started a progesterone cream my Doc recommended but it was an enormous 200 mg dose. The book said that if you take an over dose of progesterone cream, you will initially start seeing an improvement in the symptoms… but then at some point that stops and it excacerbates your imbalance. THAT is what was happening to me!

The lack of concentration just got way worse… The anixety was absolutely intolerable… super sonic! This kind of panic must be what people feel when they go crazy inside a hospital ER knocking things over and screaming and eventually being tackled and given a stiff shot of Haldol! It feels like a crazed emergency in side your chest!

Luckily I had a few Xanax but they just were cutting it so I went back to my Physician Assistant to talk about getting some help. What a nightmare that was… If I had come in unkempt, they probably would have thought me to be a homeless unmedicated schitzophrenic. I paced through the waiting room, avoiding eye contact, rocking back and forth… I did let them know I was having incredibly high anxiety, but even knowiing that — I musta looked nuts!

He gave me another prescription for a little stronger chill pill… Then I finally heard back from the people at the hormone clinic who had prescriped the overdose, and they advised I stop taking the cream for a week… then start again at a half dose.

I think this will give my body time to burn off the excess progesterone and hopefully find some balance with the much smaller dose.

For now I am a droopy eyed, slightly sedated woman who can’t concentrate. I don’t mind feeling sedated considering the Heebee jeebies as an alternative. *shivers* So, now I have to catch up on my life in this state.

You see, it takes an awful lot of energy to be this anxious so I had been exhausted and unable to pry my ass off the couch to clean up the last couple weeks.

Second day off the progesterone I managed to get most of the cleaning done. Next day I worked a 12 hour shift and made a dent in Christmas shopping. Today I managed to finish all the main gift buying… Now just a couple details left to pick up.. plus some family pix and christmas cards.

I just keep putting one groggy foot in front of the other… but beware… if you see a tiny little pixie of a zombie coming towards you in Walmart, don’t shoot.. It’s only me.

Published in: on December 18, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/under-pressure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like this post. I think hormonal imbalance could account for a lot of problems in our lives! And not just pills that we take, but also foods that we eat, etc. I’ve been having some pretty major hormonal issues too. It’s really not fun.

    • Yep. Hormones are powerful stuff!

  2. Good luck! I hope you feel much better soon! xox

    • Many thanks… am doing better already actually. There was a big difference from one day to the next.

  3. I used to think all that jazz about hormones in meat was bologna, but then we changed our diet and I noticed a huge difference. At first I didn’t see it, but now if we have a few crazy days of corn dogs or hamburger helper I start to feel all sluggish again… I tell you what though, I’m fighting off the holiday blues, doing my best to keep them at bay, wondering if six days is enough to pull off a Christmas miracle and get some gifts under that tree! Wish me luck…

    • Praying for your Christmas miracle, Tiff. Not sure I know anyone who deserves it more! & u make a good point of this being a stressful time of year. My therapist keeps telling me that. Lol.. trying to get me to see the light at the end of the tunnel, I think.

      • Thanks girl! I have that panicked feeling in my stomach, wondering, is it possible to buy 5 bicycles, 2 pairs of shoes, and some Beats in the next week? I almost thought I had a stomach virus, and then I realized, it was just Christmas jitters. I say let’s start the countdown to a New Year, and this time, I promise, I am shopping in July!

      • It IS possible.. u can do it!!! & with an active partner to put those bikes.together! Yeehaaa! I hope ur family gives u a spa day for Christmas…. u may NEED one. 😀


Leave a Reply

