Encouragement All Over the Place!

The Lady Rancher

My life feels like it’s been jammed full of encouragement lately.  I have been on shift with Mz. Heinous and she has been rude, and condescending… hard to deal with.

I have managed to take away her power by seeing her through a very realistic lens.  She’s a sad woman really.  Horribly unhappy, in a crumbling marriage, and with all her children leaving her nest.  She’s extremely overweight, but not just heavy..  She’s misshapen… extremely pear-shaped.  Her hair is cut in a pixie and curly, so as she tries to grow it out it gets poofy and even more unattractive.  The poor girl doesn’t even have a pretty face.

She has been in the same job for 15 years, and has no power at work either.  She hit her salary cap 10 years ago, so she’s probably working with people with like 5 years on who make the same as she does…  Most of all, I realize she has no power over me.  She can’t do anything but complain, I guess.  Maybe lie… but I don’t care.  Nothing she can do can get me fired or in to any serious trouble.  I have absolutely nothing to fear from her.

My only real concern is how to work with her peacefully.  I have been kind to her, because that’s who I am… but she minimizes anything I say, or ignores it.   I also don’t want to be too compliant or constantly ignore her rudeness, there by giving her tacit approval so I have been talking with some of the women on the graveyard shift as to how best to handle it.

They have been incredibly helpful.  Overwhelmingly supportive.  I have felt so totally grateful.  Yes, there may be one woman on the staff that is a huge problem for me, but there are 13 others who want nothing more than to help me and see me succeed.

There are three women on the shift, and over and over again they hold up one gal in particular as an example.  We’ll call her The Lady Rancher.

The Lady Rancher lives alone with her dogs, and horses.  She is very multifaceted…  She has a commercial driver’s license.  She’s a bee keeper.  She takes time off every year for harvest, and then does farm and ranch work as outside employment.  She doesn’t own a tv or a computer, and requires very little sleep at night.

She’s an incredibly unique individual but what strikes me most of all about her is that…  Nothing rattles her.  She has a core of calm and peace all the time.

This week, I learned, she hasn’t always been that way.

The Lady Rancher is about to retire with full pension benefits, but it’s been a rocky journey.  She worked for our agency for some 22 years, and then left.

She was so incredibly stressed, she was wasting away thin.  Her hair was falling out, and she had an ulcer.  All her relationships had fallen apart.

She had spent her whole life absorbing everything that was happening.  The events of life knocking her around for years and years.  She finally burnt out.

After that, she spent five years drivin’ a tractor for next to nothing… just enough to feed herself and her dogs.  She journaled like crazy, read and went through therapy.  It took her five years to get back to a healthy emotional state where she felt like she could face the world again.

I was speechless as I looked at The Lady Rancher and realized she’d been through a similar process of where I’m at now… and she came through the other side a pillar of peace.

I can’t tell you how encouraging it was to find out that someone I greatly respect has come through what I’m working through… and to hear her say “it works.”

There’s just encouragement every where I look these days…. and I am so grateful.

Published in: on November 8, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/encouragement-all-over-the-place/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s an awesome story. Makes me think there is hope for these almost bald spots yet!

  2. gratitude…another lovely post!


Leave a Reply

