Mature Love v Immature Love

I found this such an incredible post… Just had to reblog it. Kudos to a fantastic writer, a scholar and a romantic. Thanks John. To all my readers… hope you enjoy!

What Is Real True Love?

.
Erich Fromm, in “The Art of Loving,” wrote, “Immature love says: ‘I love you because I need you.’ Mature love says: ‘I need you because I love you’.”

The first statement is based on dependency—I am dependent on you, I am under-developed as a person, I am young and I am just starting out in adulthood and I am glomming onto you, relying on you to support me emotionally and psychologically (maybe even financially), to validate me, to give me a sense of who I am, to make me feel special, loved, wanted, valuable, complete, to compliment me, to make me feel better, to make my life better, easier, more fun, and because you are doing that, and because I am getting all of that from you and this relationship right now, that is why I “love” you. (But should that change, I’ll look elsewhere…

View original post 906 more words

Published in: on October 25, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/10/25/2201/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

