Think Like a Man

  I caught the movie “Think Like a Man” on Pay-per-view this weekend, and what do you know, it was really good…  Of course, I love romantic comedies so maybe my opinion is a little biased.

Still, I think the character developement was very good…  I’m totally in love with The Dreamer.  This movie explored all kinds of different men, women and relationships and I know people just like this.

It got me thinking about something my therapist said the other day…  He said in the 50s and 60s there were some very hard and fast rules about dating and courtship.  Still, this didn’t make people happy necessarily, so the pendulum swung during the late 60s and 70s to the whole free love culture.  Then there was the 80s… ya know, the ME generation.

He said now what we have is essential no rules when it comes to dating.  People are out there just workin’ the trial and error, if you ask me.  Women seem to be giving up their power in droves, as they give up “the cookie” WAY too fast and end up not getting the respect they deserve.

It even sounds to me like women are becoming more and more sexually aggressive, so not only are they giving up the card we have historically held (ie:  Men hold the committment card, women hold the sex card) but they are also training men to expect that sort of behavior.

Steve Harvey has a terrific take on this stating that it has created all different kinds of men on the dating scene.  I agree.  He covers all that, and essentially gives women a playbook in his book “Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man.”

I found the book when my unhappily single sister recommended it to me.  She gave me access to her Droid ebook reader account and I read it.  I zipped through it super fast and found it quite helpful… In fact, I’ll be buying it in print, and putting it in to play when I start dating again.

 

Tons of great information including some of these quotes:

Don’t hate the player, change the game.

If you are her man, she will walk on water and through a mountain for you, too, no matter how you’ve acted out, no matter what crazy thing you’ve done, no matter the time or demand.

Because that fear can trip you up every time; all too many of you let the guy get away with disrespecting you, putting in minimal effort and holding on to the commitment to you because you’re afraid he’s going to walk away and you’ll be alone again. And we men? We recognize this and play on it, big time.

Your objective is to avoid being a woman on a string.

Men respect standards.  Get some!

Without a doubt, there is much wisdom here and given with a positive encouraging approach.  Definitely worth a read… and if it matters to you, it even made it in to Oprah’s book club.

Published in: on September 18, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/think-like-a-man/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ever thought about reviewing these kind of books regularly in a blog? You seem to read a lot, and you’re really good at this. 🙂

    • Well thank u, Darlin’. Kinda using it as filler in my blog lately to compensate for my complete and utter lack of dates. Iol

      • It’s kind of like a desert out there, comes in waves. Even when you have a full peanut gallery within a couple of weeks they’ve drop like flies… 😉 BUT quality NOT quantity I find these days.

      • Truth is, I haven’t been putting myself out there. I want to get through this therapy process first (really focus) & give my heart whatever time it needs to heal from the last debacle. That should help increase the quality level in my next situation… I agree with u there.. quality is all that matters.

  2. very joyful post with deep perceptions about human relationships. Thanks for share.

    • Thanks for the compliments… they are always appreciated 🙂

  3. First of all I want to say wonderful blog! I had
    a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your
    thoughts prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in
    getting my ideas out there. I do enjoy writing however it just
    seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Kudos!

    • I just start writing what is in my head then go back and edit. I started that process when I was in college & had to write a paper about food. I’m no foodie so I was absolutely stuck… I literally started writing “I hate this assignment. What the hell do I have to say about food?…” etc. Eventually, the words did come & it turned out to be one of the best pieces I’ve ever written.


Leave a Reply

