In The Days Following…

Today I was thinking about how much I’ve changed over the last year…  Specifically I was thinking about some pivotal people that God sent in to my life and I found myself unquestionably changed by them.

There was the gal that drew me back to the Lord.  We were really friends, more acquaintances, but as I got to know her better I saw that her religious background completely mirrored mine.  She’s the only one that could have done it… drew my back to the Lord.  Before her, you couldn’t drag me in to a church kicking and screaming.  God put her in my life to change me and I’m so thankful for that.  While it was happening, I didn’t realize I was changing so much… but it’s very clear to me now.

The Ambassador was also one of those pivotal people for me.  I am changed by him…  Being with someone who prays everyday, and shares my spirituality changed the way I look at relationships, and what I want out of them.

I stood at church and watched my friends… the Pastor and his wife snuggle up and pray together and I thought–  That’s what I want.   I’ve come to this place where I truly believe that the only way a relationship can survive and endure with the way the world is today is to be brought together by God.  In fact, even to be able to find each other…  to meet someone who is your match body, soul and spirit is a miracle.  It seems like there are ten thousands things that have to come together to make that happen, but it does.  It happens every day, all over the world.

The Hunky Mechanic has been messaging me.  He’s been waiting for me to come out of this reclusive funk.  He says I mean so much to him and he doesn’t want me to get away again… but I think he’s lonely.  We are two good people who have managed to find each other.  We aren’t a perfect match, but we aren’t a disaster so it makes us want to cling to the possibility…  but I want more than that.  I want that relationship that challenges me…  a man who grows with me.

Plus, the conversation I tried to have with him about spirituality did not go well, so with him I don’t see myself getting the man who will hold me and pray with me asking for God’s guidance when things seem overwhelming.  I don’t see him as the man who will take my hands when I’m shedding tears of joy and thank the Lord for all he’s given us.

It seems everything I’ve read, and every sermon I’ve heard the last couple days have shouted “Don’t Settle!”  I even came across a sermon from a popular pastor in our area… and he talked about finding someone who matches you in those three ways… body, soul, and spirit.  He said so much that made so much  sense– talking about how often people marry the wrong person and make things harder on themselves.  You can make things work with 2 out of 3 but it takes a lot of work.

He also said don’t run around trying to make something happen, just rest and let the Lord bring that person in to your life.  He said when it’s right you’ll know… it won’t take loads of prayer to figure it out.  I agree and that’s what I’m going to do…  continue waiting on the Lord.  Now to have a talk with The Mechanic.

Published in: on July 15, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/in-the-days-following/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cadence,
    You’re on to something… Stay the course 🙂
    Thinking for yourself, being introspective…asking yourself the tough questions… Answering honestly and owning your truth. This is processing….Personal power is just beyond that. You’ll get what you intend. #Counsel4Living 🙂

    • Good because I could use some people personal power right about now! 🙂

  2. a warm post

  3. Amazingly soothing and what I needed right now too. Thank youuu so much. I’ve shared this with others that I hope find comfort in this too… 😀

    Pink.

    • I’m so glad it was helpful and u shared it. Thank u!

  4. You’re on the right track! Wait for your amazing love to find you. It will happen, because you’re a gem, and somebody needs your sparkle!


Leave a Reply

