The Color Code

So, it’s been a few weeks now.  I’ve pushed past the toughest day, and managed to not reach out to The Ambassador of Ambiguity even though I can feel him slipping away.  I’ve sat with my anger, loss, and sadness over that situation.  I’ve worked through a whole bunch of garbage with the help of this book (Calling In The One).

Then as I watched The Sultry School Teacher move right through a break up and on to dating again, I found myself wondering if I wasn’t starting to tread water instead of moving on.

So, I thought I might dip my toe in the water.  I looked for a christian singles bible study anywhere within 100 miles of my little town, but to no avail.  Then christianmingle.com popped in to my head…

I know I must have heard about it somewhere.  I’ve always been reluctant to join a christian dating site, because of some of my past experiences.  I didn’t want to get mixed up with some judgy super holy roller.  But today is a new day.

So, I went to the site to poke around, but it’s one of those sites that gently forces you in to building a profile before you can look around…  so that’s what I did.  In the process I found “The Color Code” personality theory by Taylor Hartman, PHD.  Here’s a little info:

The Color Code is Motive-based

You need to know that The Color Code works and is the best tool on the market today, because it is based on human motivations (why you do what you do) rather than on human behaviors (what you do). Behavior can be imitated, copied, or faked, but if you know the true motivation behind the behavior, you already have a very clear picture of what that person is all about.

You only have one Core Motive or “Color Code”

Your personality type is driven by only ONE of four Core Motives, represented by the colors:

RED (Core Motive = Power, or the ability to move from “a” to “b” as efficiently as possible)

BLUE (Core Motive = Intimacy, this doesn’t mean sex, but the need to connect, share feelings, and build relationships with others)

WHITE (Core Motive = Peace, or calm even in the midst of conflict; clarity in the midst of confusion)

YELLOW (Core Motive = Fun, or always enjoying the moment)

I took my little personality quiz, which was pretty fun actually.  I love those silly things.  At the end, I found I’m a red 36% with blue as a close second 33%.  The other 2 colors being yellow, 17%, and white 15%.

Reds Are

Action oriented  Assertive 
Confident  Decisive 
Determined  Disciplined 
Independent  Leaders 
Logical  Pragmatic 
Proactive  Productive 
Responsible  Task-Dominant 

It’s funny, when I read something like this, all of sudden I can get a pretty good idea of the colors of others around me.  I’d say Mr. Cool is a yellow.  The Firefighter a yellow.  The Ramblin’ Man a red like me.  The Ambassador is a white, and I realize the challenges shown in the red/white compatibility are definitely there and grate on me like nails scraping down a chalk board…  They will always be there because they are his CORE.  Those things that were driving me absolutely bat shit crazy about him will always be his nature.  Hmmm.  Good to know.

CONS

They can both be too independent

The RED can overpower the WHITE, which causes the WHITE to fight back with stubbornness and through other passive-aggressive behaviors

The WHITE must learn to speak up, or will lose the RED’S respect and will never allow a true connection to formulate

From reading about our two colors, I also got the distinct impression that my larger than life personality would be overwhelming to a white—  which makes perfect sense,  but I don’t want that.  I don’t want to be in a relationship where I can’t be myself.. my best self.  I definitely do not want to be with someone who feels run over by my big personality.  Probably why I’ve ended up dating so many fellow reds.  Takes a strong man to love a woman like me.  🙂

I’m working graveyard shifts again.  It’s dead, so we put in the movie What’s Your Number?  GREAT romantic comedy, which reminded me once again…  That’s exactly the kind of dynamic I want.   You know what they say, be yourself and find someone who loves every minute of it.

I think a yellow might be a good match for me, and what do you know… The minute I got on that dating site, a yellow popped right up!

Anyway, I bring it up because I found it to be a pretty stinkin’ accurate theory when it came to my own personality profile and I thought the readers might like it too.

For more info check out

www.colorcode.com     Well, I’m off to Amazon to buy the book!

Published in: on April 29, 2012 at 9:00 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/the-color-code/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Since I wrote this post I have actually read the book… Turns out I’m actually a BLUE. More to come on that in the future.

  2. Took the test….I’m a BLUE (63%) with secondary being RED (22%). Blues are motivated by Intimacy……go figure! LOL
    Looking forward to reading more from you about your findings. 😉

    • Wow, that would make you an incredibly intense personality. For me, I’m so glad I read the book.. The test he included seemed more in depth. Good thing too, cuz no way I’m a red. Married a couple of em tho.. The worst possible match for a blue. Go figure.

      • Intense? Me? No! LOL (Made worse by being a Scorpio/Tiger….ugh!)
        I’ve been with too many reds myself. Why oh why oh why? 😉
        Looking forward to reading more on your blog. Keep up the great work!

      • My theory on why little powerhouses like us end up with Reds… Well, it takes a STRONG man to handle such passion & intensity. Now if I could find a strong yet evolved soul to love every minute of it!

  3. your post is very interesting…the colour of love, does exist?…keep going and writing…today I attend a church service…I feel love when I pray…I like christian way…

  4. LOVE this post. And just at a glance, I’m pretty sure I’m a Red who has definitely been attracting many White in my life. It would help me to be balanced by someone Yellow for sure in this Color Code (not ethnicity wise as well, I’ve always found people of my own culture to be like a sibling to me). Thank you soooo much for sharing, this definitely helped me gain clarity as well. 😀 Hugsss!!!

    Pink.

    • lol.. White is supposed to be a good match for a red. Yellow for a blue. Still, the more evolved we become… The more we grow, the more balanced we are for all the colors within us. Of course that core color wwill always rise to the top. I found I really needed to read the book to fully understand and I’m so glad I did. I’m happy it held your attention. 🙂

      • Yes, for sure! Ahh.. white is a good match? Hmm.. I think my ex was a white for sure. I’ve not met many reds or those are usually a blend with whites. I’m looking forward to reading more about what you discover (also because I’m a bit too lazy to do the work myself, and since we are so similar, it’s a quick way to learn about myself too). 😀

        Pink.

  5. […] to Search 4 A Soul Mate, it opened my eyes as to the colours we see in […]

  6. Very interesting post, I appreciate theory because it’s coming from a well thought out place. It is so amazing how people can give clarity to so many people. Psychology is my passion (though love is my religion); I love how the human mind functions and how much it makes choices without our conscious permission!!!!

    • It certainly does make choices without our permission. Love that line!

      • keep searching….it will end with warm arms and merging hearts!!!!


Leave a Reply

