The Par-tay

So, several weeks ago The Ambassador popped out with “We should have a dinner party!”

I leaned back in my chair. I don’t need that extra expense of feeding like 10 people. Plus the hassle of worrying about how my house looks and who will come, etc. etc. PLUS, that’s a couple thing.

He offered to do all the cooking, and cleaning to prepare. Well, I took a deep breath and said yes.

He did not help with the cleaning as promised but he did buy ALL the food. He ran all over the place, even driving over an hour to pick up organic beef for the gourmet burgers.

The Ambassador came by early to prep and we got a little time to chat before the party. It was very plain to me how nervous he was but he reassured me the cooking would calm him.

He had bought a new shirt, stripey and plaid. He’s got this fantastic modern earthy style sometimes that includes baggy pants that sit low on his hips. Everytime I see him wearing this style, it makes me hold my breath. It’s the way he looked the first time I saw him.

He’s also got this country side to him, and suits up in wranglers and boots… That was the look he sported that night. His new shirt caressing his shoulders and making them look oh so broad.

I prepared to go pick my kids up from school and was thinking I was determined NOT to go in to this party UNkissed. I buttoned my coat and said I was going, then stopped and turned around. I marched right back and simply said “There’s one more thing I want before I go.”

He turned to me and we shared a first kiss standing in my kitchen with his hands full of beef. It was sweet and sort of a smatter of small kisses. Just what I would have expected. I smiled and turned away to continue my tasks for the day.

We had planned this a couple weeks before. He invited his one best friend who wouldn’t give him a straight answer as to whether or not he was coming… He did attend, with girlfriend in tow. He also invited his one friend from work who decided she would rather just stay at home on her day off.

I invited my three Dazzling Divorcees and Captain Amazing. They all came.

It turned out, that was going a little overboard. It was A LOT of peole. Didn’t seem like all that many but when you count kids and dates… It was a ton.

The party went off just fine. Everyone loved The Ambassador’s gourmet burgers… even the kids, which shocked the hell out of me. Kids usually aren’t crazy about stuff they have not tried before, but they gobbled it down. The guests had great conversation and it was really fun putting faces to names.

Now, half way through the dinner… I heard the other kids looking for my son. I got curious and got up from the table to look. I couldn’t find him either and my anxiety started to grow. I checked all the places inside the house then through my coat on to go check the garage.

On my way out the door I turned and saw him sitting on the floor, head in a basket full of clean laundry crying. I sat with him and talked to him. He was feeling left out by the other kids. Honestly, it was SO many people– it was probably overwhelming for him. It was for me. By that time my anxiety had shot up.
I was pretty much MIA for the rest of the party. My stomach was upset so I bounced between the bathroom and my son’s room comforting him and being a horrible hostess.

When things calmed and I realized what The Ambassador and The Sultry School Teacher had done, my heart swelled and I wondered just how much joy one heart could hold. They took care of everything. The Ambassador kept things going, playing host while I was gone, and comforting me when I popped up.

The two of them cleaned up all the food and all the dishes. The Sultry School Teacher, even took the dishes to her place next door to run them through the dish washer so I didn’t have to wash them by hand.

Later, talking to The Ambassador, he complimented her with vigor. “She’s such a good friend to you…” and on and on he went. Despite my absence, the party went off without a hitch.

My friends and his friends intermingled seemlessly… but what I really took away from the party was that I have been supremely overwhelmingly blessed with a guy and a girl of stellar charachter who care for me enough to be my stand ins even when I’m too stubborn to admit I need one.

Published in: on January 9, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/the-par-tay/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

