Scorpions in the Wood Pile

ssssscary!

I finally got a load of wood delivered. What a relief that is… Price of damn heating fuel is astronomical. So, now I’m cozy and warm. However, I keep thinking about scorpions in the wood pile when I go out there, especially in the dark, to get wood.

I am pretty much terrified of scorpions, which is rather hilarious considering I have one tattooed on my body and I’m a scorpio… but it is what it is. Every time I reach out to grab a piece of firewood, I have fantasies of giant black king scorpions trying to kill me. ahhh, I’m even getting goosebumps just writing about it.

OMG, a scene like this would result in running and screaming like my hair was on fire, not to mention peeing of pants and possibly a mild stroke

<a
You see, I've never had to make a fire or load my own wood stove. I went from a child where my stepdad took care of that sort of thing. (He was not a compassionate or considerate man so we froze our asses off most of the time.) To the military, to being married to an uber masculine man who actually went out and chopped down trees for our firewood. Split the rounds and the whole bit. I never had to make the fire.

I have never been the type of woman to expect a man to "take care of me" or to shy away from a task just because I don't have a man in my life to do it. SO, I teach myself. I put out the effort. I make a fire, and haul in the wood.

…but every time I go out there for an arm full, I shutter and think about the damn scorpions and it's a nasty little reminder that I don't have a man around.

Published in: on December 27, 2011 at 4:00 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/scorpions-in-the-wood-pile/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. If it’s any consolation, most men would run away peeing their manties too if a scorpion leapt out of the firewood pile for them ..

    • Haaaaaaa! I love it! “Manties”… Lol


Leave a Reply

