Christianity for Singles?

Why is it that there is some unwritten rule that a woman can not be a “full member” of a church organization unless she is married to a man who also attends with her.

I have seen this manifestation through out my entire life. It never changes. The chauvinism can be more or less intense from one church to the next but either way, it’s there.

I was sitting in church today, in a place where I have felt quite comfortable and included until now. The Pastor starts talking about some upcoming plans for our new little church and then asks to speak to some members afterward. He starts calling out names, and low and behold every one of them is a married couple who both consistently attend.

I felt so incredibly unwelcome then. I felt like nothing but an on-looker. I have spoken to the Pastor and his wife asking to be more involved in the church on several occasions, but I am a divorced woman and single Mom. So, I sit in the pew and look on.

This time in my life has been the absolute loneliest of my entire life, and I know it’s the same for many many singles.

Plus, I have had to deal with losing my marriage, and the breaking up of my family. I lost everything and found myself living in a tiny apartment in a scary section of town and managed with God’s help to claw my way back to a good place. I have never needed God more. I desperately need the feeling of community and family.

Sometimes I feel as though all of life is a high school with the “cool” kids runnin’ the show.

Well, I am not the type to just stand by and complain! If I’m not part of the click, I’ll start my own. I completely believe, if you don’t like it, fix it! Besides, you know what Billy Joel says “I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints, the sinners are much more fun!”

Early Sept… I’m inviting a pile of unattached women from all over town for Margarita Night at my place! There are at least 7 in my neighborhood alone, and they are all beautiful, active, successful women. Who needs the church to have support, friendship and the feeling of family? I GOT THIS.

I recommend this to all my readers, especially the singles. Get out there and live! Be social! You can’t hurry love, and connections with friends (especially other singles who are going through the same things that you are) will be greatly enriching and will temper the sting of loneliness.

Honestly, I’m nervous. I’m really worried that no one will show up… I’m going to do it anyway, though, and keep doing it every few weeks. I’ll let you know how it goes, readers… Those sexy bitches better show up!

Published in: on September 8, 2011 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/christianity-for-singles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

