The Duke and Our 15 Years Ago

Fifteen years ago… before marriage and stretch marks, kids and goldfish crackers… I went to see my friend Duke in San Diego.

I remember when I first met Duke. We were both serving in the military at the time, and what a fantastic personality he has!  He is tall, dark and handsome, well educated and a little older than me. He’s also in great shape. I remember being in the gym with my girlfriends and counting and cheering him on while he seriously worked the rowing machine and kicked another guys ass at it.

Duke is about 6 foot tall, with short dark brown hair and the most intruiging eyes. His eyes are each a different color… one blue and one hazel, if I remember right. He has a muscular athletic build, toned and trim and a throaty way of talking that gives me goosebumps and brings back such warm memories.

Duke was dating a friend of mine and I remember he once told her she was the most fascinating woman he’d ever met. She was also the 20 something virgin in our crowd.

I have a picture of the two of them slow dancing in the cramped space in a motel room we were all gathered in. He was like a best friend’s big brother that everyone had a crush on.

Duke and I had been out of touch for about a year. I don’t remember how we got back in contact, but I know this was before Facebook. I found out that he was only a few hours drive from where I was stationed and we made plans to visit. I asked him to book me a room at a local hotel. (Shocking, I know, since I’m such a naughty naughty girl. lol)

When I got there, I remember arriving in my sporty little Ford Probe wearing jeans and a mid-drift tank top that made my jugs look huge.  Duke had an obvious reaction in his face when he saw me.  Even typing that today makes me grin like the Cheshire cat!

He told me the local hotel was booked but that his roommate was out of town and I could stay with him. (I always wondered about that. Did he really call the hotel?) That was fine with me. There was an extra bed and I didn’t think anything of it.

I remember we talked about this classic mustang Duke was wanting to buy, and how I intended to get him some fuzzy dice to hang from the rear view mirror. We talked about all that had happened in the last year and that girlfriend of mine he’d almost asked to marry him. I remember being in the car when Duke described thier breakup.  “It was like this,” he said and then switched off the radio to complete silence.  That made such an impact, I’ve never forgotten it.

We discussed Duke’s insomnia and sleep walking and my first marriage that had just gone down in flames.

My most vivid memory of that weekend is of pulling on a super sexy red velvet dress. No bra, which I could do easily and without a second thought before kids. My hair long and perfectly set in dark bouncy curls. Just the hint of make up I wore back in those days.

I slipped on some hott black platform heels and we headed off for dinner at The Rusty Pelican. It was a place right on the beach. Dining was upstairs and we were seated with a breathtaking view of the beach and the Pacific Ocean. We ordered dinner and Duke showed his class ordering wine, and explaining how red goes with beef and white is better with chicken and fish. I knew nothing of such things, just a small town girl.

Dinner was delightful, and I remember looking out the huge windows to see a guy standing on top of his beat up old blue van making huge people sized bubbles. After dinner I peeled off the platforms and carried them as we walked arm and arm down the beach.

When we got back to Duke’s place he kissed me.. I’m sure I was surprised, as it never occured to me that he’d be interested in me. I was just a young girl with a with a whole lot of heart and oozing with attitude… not much else.

The delicious kissing continued for some time. It was a fabulous make out and I was raring to go. Given our situations, though, Duke hit the brakes and I spent the night in his arms…

Our romantic weekend was tainted a little the next morning when his moronic brute of a roommate walked in while I was showering and sitting on the shower floor trying to shave my legs. I flew out of there like my ass was on fire. Duke carried my bags out to the car and I drove the couple hours home with one leg shaved.

That was the last time I saw Duke. It’s now been 15 years and, thank God for Facebook, Duke found me again. He’s now married and quite successful still serving in the military. He has a gorgeous little 2 year old boy and a frigid wife who won’t even sit next to him on the sofa. He is still smart, gorgeous and athletic. Still as charming as a Fortune 500 CEO.

We were chatting on the phone the other day while he bossed some people around at work and I commented “I’ve never seen this side of you Duke. Wow, it’s hot. I think I’m startin’ to sweat!” I couldn’t help it, I’m such a ridiculous flirt.

In texting to Duke tonight, he messaged some really wonderful things to me. He said I’m a good kisser (remembered this after 15 years, he’s my SUPER Hero of the day). He also wrote “how about we agree to make each other as happy as possible if we’re not with our “one” in the next two years? I doubt it’ll come to that because you’re too good a catch to be out there long. You’re super sexy, funny, and extremely passionate about living life and very loving. Who couldn’t eat that up?”

I replied “I know, right?!!” haha.

He also said “Despite the time and distance, you fit naturally back into my life. You’re a life long friend.”

Dear Guys Who Just Aren’t That Into Me, Duke gets it. You’re idiots!

Love, me

Published in: on July 27, 2011 at 10:54 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2011/07/27/the-duke-and-our-15-years-ago/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

