Takin’ It Slow

So, Mr. Hard Body is all about “takin’ it slow”. I’ve actually asked him once if we even had “that kind” of attraction. “oh ya, we do” he replied “just takin’ it slow”.

Today I think “Takin’ it slow?? Are we even moving?!” It’s been probably atleast a month and a half and he’s never even tried to kiss me! I think there are a few reasons for this… First, from what he has told me and getting to know him, I think physical touch is meaningful to him and makes him feel very attached, so he doesn’t want to go there until he knows it’s right. Second, I think the whole “taking it slow, making sure things are mutual” thing is just a means of trying to ward off rejection. It’s waiting and waiting until you feel certain that you won’t get rejected, and then making a move.

That’s just a waste of time if you ask me. I say TAKE THE RISK! What’s the worst that can happen? You won’t be completely destroyed. So you encounter a little rejection, so what. Everyone does at some point or another. You won’t be shattered. I guarentee you’ll live to date another day.

Think of all you could be missing. Once in a movie (I think) I heard the line “when you find the person you want to spend the rest of your life with, you want the rest of your life to start right away!”

You could be having great laughs, fantastic sex, and loving like crazy.. instead of just treading water. In that situation I’d NEVER choose to tread water. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to jump in and have that feeling that I’m “pretending” to be close with someone but don’t actually know them well enough to BE close… but at the same time, why does it have to be so complicated?

In my last relationship, we met… had one date, and then we were together. Just like that, we were in a relationship. He was a couple months out of a relationship where his fiance of 7 years had run off with his best friend but he didn’t let that stop him. Sure, he was afraid of getting hurt again and he said so, but he kept on trucking. He didn’t let the fear control his life. Sometimes I just feel like I’m wasting my time pampering someone’s fragile ego!

Why can’t it just be that simple? When I was young, that’s how it was. Now, I can’t stop hearing the phrases “just dating” and “dating other people” and crap like that. Complicated, complicated. But then again, I see why people do it.

I date other people because it keeps me from getting too attached to the one situation. It also doesn’t sting as bad if one situation doesn’t work out, because you’ve got possibilities with the others. I don’t like it though. It makes me uncomfortable. In fact, tonight I need to write a letter to The Jailer and explain my situation and stuff. He’s been wanting to come out here and visit. See me again, and I told him he could stay at the house.. which is still fine but he needs to know it would be as friends only.

In fact, I’m going to go do that now.

Published in: on July 13, 2011 at 7:45 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/takin-it-slow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

