In Walks Mr. Cool

I have missed some days! However, I figure, I have to be out there living the life!  Right?

So, I have been off and on Internet dating sites over the last few years without much success but this time around I expanded my search parameters and resolved to put more effort into my situation.

One of the first emails I recieved was from a 50 year old man. I have to admit, I had to look twice at the age listed. I found him very attractive and was surprised to see that he was so much older than me.

His email was simple, explaining he had property in a micro town about 30 minutes outside the town I live in, as well as a house in the city. He playfully mentioned the age gap (16 years!) and asked me to have a drink with him. I figured “why not?”. He looked damn sexy to me, just a little more salt and pepper at his temples than I’m used to.

Trying to schedule the date was a little difficult as I haven’t been making dating much of a priority and certainly not putting in much effort to meet new people. I had to wiggle outside my comfortable routine.

We finally ironed it out and met for drinks on the night of my friend Christie’s party. I figured it gave me the perfect excuse to bail and if we did hit it off I could invite him to come along.

Considering my track record I didn’t expect I would be bringing him to Christy’s. Generally I meet a good handful of people for each one person that might have relationship potential.

So, I get there and walk into our local neighborhood bar. It’s dim and the light shines off the antique mahogany bar. It’s such a small town that there is only one person sitting at the bar. The bartender sees me and points me towards the back billiard room. I nearly ran into him in the hallway. He was tall, trim, in fantastic shape, and he had a ferocious mischievous smile. We laughed and he gave me a hug.

Right away I noticied it, instant chemistry, instant attraction. It was like an invisible magnetic pull. I was very surprised by this given the age difference. We played and chatted and even though we were getting to know each other, it was like I had known him for years.

I couldn’t stop smiling. He had a jack and coke and barely batted an eye at my drinking only sprite and explaining that since I’m just a tiny little creature, I don’t drink at all if I have to drive.

It wasn’t long at all before I asked him to come along to Christie’s. This was big for me because I am new to this particular social circle and there were people I work with there, as well as good friends and strangers. 

I tried to get him to take his own car since I didn’t really know him and it makes me uneasy to be in the car as a passenger with a man I don’t know. That’s when the Salesman in him appeared. He actually said “what would it take to get you to ride in the same car with me tonight?”

And NO he does not sell used cars. He sells real estate. When he pulled out his driver’s license and suggested I give his DL number to the babysitter I laughed at the absurdity of it and gave in… but I drove.

It was exciting and fun. No one was really making jokes but we were doing an awful lot of laughing, like a couple of kids.  About this time Christie sent me a text message reminding me to bring a christmas tree ornament, which of course I had completely forgotten about.

We ran over to the little drug store on the corner and immediately picked out a chic silver 2010 ornament.  It was cheap little thing really, but it looked like a million bucks.  “We got the best one in the store, didn’t we?” He snickered.

We hit the dinner party and sat next to a couple of my close friends as well as a guy from work. I was so impressed with how sociable he was sitting there with a bunch of people he didn’t know at all. He didn’t seem the slightest bit uncomfortable. He was down right charming and generous with his smile.

We chatted, ate, and left fairly early. I had to relieve the babysitter and people were starting to get rowdy. Don’t get me wrong, rowdy is fun, but I try to keep rowdy to a minimum around people from work.

We had a nice drive together, in fact, the entire evening felt very natural. There were no awkward silences, and no inappropriate behaviors. He wasn’t gropey or quiet. I was very happy with how things had gone. He even offered to pay the sitter. I declined but I’ve got to tell you ladies, that was a first! Not only had he not once expected me to make the drive to his town but he offered to pay the sitter??? Wow, I felt like I had won the lottery!

Just as we pulled up to his car, I turned to look at him and he took me by surprise. Without the slightest pause or hesitation, he took my face in his hands and kissed me. It was like fireworks went off in my head. It was the perfect combination of a soft sensual kiss and a firm hand and it turned me on! He kissed me for a few minutes but not too long to make a girl think he was trying to “get down” on the first date.

He said goodbye and off he went into the night.

I was so excited I didn’t even drive straight home. I drove through my neighborhood savoring my excitement and cheering in my head.

I replayed the date in my head and thought about details like what he was wearing and what he drove. He had a simple SUV, not inappropriate considering we live in snow country and he uses it to work his property. It was at least 10 years old. That says to me, he’s smart with his money.

All you ladies that get revved up by guys in new fast fancy cars, I’ve got news for you! That is not a smart financial decision. That car loses value the minute he drives it off the lot. Mr. Cool here has invested in real estate which grows in value and is a real property asset. Ding ding!!! two points! Smart, huh?

It was a damn good date! For tonight, I say “SUCCESS!”

Published in: on February 11, 2011 at 5:25 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://search4asoulmate.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/in-walks-mr-cool/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I just found your blog today, but this entry definitely made me smile 🙂 Good for you! I hope there are many more great dates that follow.


Leave a Reply

